Images, Selfportraits

IMG_7679 copy

I love this song as much today as I did when I was a sentimental lil lad. Each year as summer sun slips at what I perceive to be a new rapid speed. As September kicks my disgruntle seasonal knees. I drop plop this track daily from pod to buds to ears.

I always remember these lines for whatever reason, from my first 1970’s variety hour listen to now. Another day’s gone dying in a dusk. This trying to stop and cryin’s getting old. Remember long summer days Playing grown ups in the city. And I have looked for love in a strangers arms. What the hell makes a little kid so attached to lyrics such as these I’ve always wondered?

MELODY

Written by: Paul Webster, Paul Francis Webster, Snuff Garrett, Sonny Burke

Melody, you’re my oldest friend
I can talk to you what a day it’s been
Out there in the mad men crush
Another day’s gone dying in a dusk

Melody, listen for the phone
While I change my clothes, he knows by now I’m home
Three days waiting, took it’s toll
This trying to stop and cryin’s getting old

Melody, remember long summer days
Playing grown ups in the city
Mamma sayin’ sweet dreams, sleepy heads
Tucked in bed with you my favorite dolly, oh

Melody, with your raggedy charms
I have looked for love in a strangers arms
Scared of going home of what they’ll say
You know mamma’s eyes could always look right through
And daddy he won’t be so proud of me
No they won’t understand like you, Melody

Love and Light Always
The Empowered Runt – lil Big R

MELODY at SUMMERS END

Aside

Love, Light, Progress and Prosperity Always

